Appointment of President and Vice-Presidents

Summary

1. The General Assembly is invited to appoint a President and Vice-Presidents for 2004/2005.

Recommendations

2. That Lord Ouseley be re-appointed President of the Association and the Peers, MPs and MEPs listed in paragraph 4 below be re-appointed as Vice-Presidents for 2004/2005.

Background

3. Articles 7.1 to 7.3 of the Constitution provide for the appointment of a President, Deputy Presidents and Vice-Presidents, as follows:

7.1 A President of the Association shall be elected at the Annual Meeting in each year and shall be eligible for re-election.

7.2 Deputy and Vice-Presidents may, on the nomination of the LGA Executive referred to in Article 8, be elected at the Annual Meeting of the Association and shall be eligible for re-election.

7.3 The President, Deputy and Vice-Presidents need not be elected members of member authorities and shall not have a vote.

4. Lord Ouseley was re-appointed LGA President at the General Assembly on 1 July 2003. The General Assembly delegated to the LGA Executive the appointments of Vice-Presidents for 2003 – 2004, and that Executive subsequently appointed the Rt Hon Stephen Byers MP to replace Mr David Milliband MP, and Lord King of West Bromwich to replace Baroness Crawley. Set out below is the list of Vice-Presidents:

MPs

Labour Adrian Bailey MP Karen Buck MP The Rt Hon Stephen Byers MP The Rt Hon Dr Jack Cunningham DL MP Valerie Davey MP Parmjit Dhanda MP Louise Ellman MP The Rt Hon Alan Howarth CBE MP Joan Humble MP Judy Mallaber MP Chris Mole MP Brian White MP

Conservatives

Christopher Chope OBE MP The Rt Hon David Curry MP Andrew Lansley CBE MP Eric Pickles MP

Liberal Democrat

Paul Holmes MP David Rendel MP Andrew Stunell OBE MP

Peers

Labour

The Baroness Gould of Potternewton The Lord King of West Bromwich The Lord Smith of Leigh

Conservative

The Rt Hon The Baroness Blatch CBE The Baroness Hanham CBE The Lord Hanningfield DL The Rt Hon The Lord Jenkin of Roding

Liberal Democrat

The Baroness Hamwee The Baroness Harris of Richmond DL The Lord Tope CBE

Cross Benchers

The Lord Butler of Brockwell GCB CVO The Lord Dearing The Baroness Greengross OBE The Lord Laming CBE DL The Baroness Prashar CBE

MEPs

Labour Richard Howitt MEP

Conservative Edward McMillan-Scott MEP

Liberal Democrat The Baroness Ludford MEP Graham Watson MEP

Contact Officer: Roy Williams (roy.williams@lga.gov.uk) (020 7664 3230)